Nancy Lublin on Crisis Text Line, a not for profit helping young people via text #tedtalk

I have recently considered volunteering for Samaritans. It’s a great cause that I feel passionate supporting. However, and rightly so, getting trained to be a Samaritan takes time, it’s mostly face 2 face and requires travel and time commitment. I work full time and am a mom, so unfortunately time is not something I have a lot of. My other problem is that Samaritans provide support over the phone and I am conscious that my accent may get in a way.

I’ve recently watched Nancy Lublin’s TED talk and learned about Crisis Text Line. It felt like a eureka moment – of course! Training is done online and support is provided via texting. Perfect. I’ve got in touch and learnt that they are coming to the UK in 2016. To be honest, I don’t think there is geographical restriction – I could probably apply already (mind you, selection process is rigorous). I now follow them to learn more about the organisation, in the meantime here is Nancy’s talk! Isn’t it amazing what they do?

About lolkin

the nomad of the Universe, sailing through the unknown, learning to be happy and give happiness back
Video | This entry was posted in impact and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

