How Afghan girls learn and create through skateboarding #skateistan

It took me a while to come up with a good post. Hard to beat the previous one on Coca Cola 🙂

First, I was going to get grumpy about a marketing text I received from Specsavers and how they should really review their communication approach. Then I wanted to tell a story of a new impact food brand from US that I discovered, Enjoy Life (those with multiple allergies may be familiar with it). But then I saw this amazing video (below) and heard about this project (thank you, A Girl’s Guide To Taking Over The World) and it’s easily the best impact project I’ve heard of.

Girls and women rights are a cause very close to my heart. But Afghanistan always had this special influence over me – I still nurse a dream of helping girls in Afghanistan get education and claim their rights. I supported various charities (Asti, Central Asia Institute), co-funded a Kickstarter film about Kabul street artists (including women), but this initiative is just so lifehacking, so cool, so simply genius that it has to be one of the best I heard of.

I will donate when I do my next #rak (random act of kindness).

About lolkin

the nomad of the Universe, sailing through the unknown, learning to be happy and give happiness back
This entry was posted in impact and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Afghan girls learn and create through skateboarding #skateistan

  1. WriterLionel says:

    Wow. Inspiring. It’s awe-inspiring to see children excited to learn and play. And skateboard! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

