What Exactly Is Facebook’s Strategy With Messenger? #tech

I updated Facebook’s iOS mobile app recently*. Naive of me to hope that they improved the app starting speed (takes up to 30sec on iPhone 4, I timed out of interest). Instead the main goal of the update seems to force me to install Messenger for mobile. So committed Facebook is to this purpose that they don’t allow me to view my messages until I install the goddamn app.

I don’t understand why I need to install a separate app to use the existing app’s functionality. I did read reviews, just in case, and they were mostly negative. I won’t be surprised if Whatsapp usage grows like crazy while Facebook react to the feedback. Oh wait. They bought Whatsapp. Ok… I still don’t understand what the strategy is here? Anyone enlighten me please?

* I started using Facebook again. Anonymously. I use it to follow various opinion leaders, charities, causes and happiness blogs for my blog on happiness. 

About lolkin

the nomad of the Universe, sailing through the unknown, learning to be happy and give happiness back
This entry was posted in tech and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Exactly Is Facebook’s Strategy With Messenger? #tech

  1. lolkin says:

    some idea in the post here http://thenextweb.com/facebook/2014/04/10/facebooks-two-pronged-mobile-messaging-app-strategy/ but it still does not make sense to me. do Facebook honestly think users have no choice but their Messenger or Whatsapp?

Leave a Reply

